Find the best library databases for your research.
The most frequently-used databases
GCSEPodThis link opens in a new windowGreat for GCSE revision and reviewing. Available to all Y9, 10 and 11 students, please ask the Librarian for your login details or sign on using your Kellett gmail.
Kellett eLibraryThis link opens in a new windowOver 1,000 eBooks to choose from - read at a click of a button, anytime, anywhere. Registration required.
Questia (A level students)This link opens in a new windowA research tool for Y12 and Y13 students.
Please contact your Librarian for login details.
Large library of quality content
Search more than 94,000 cover-to-cover cross-curricular books including original works like The Scarlet Letter, Hamlet, Jane Eyre, The Red Badge of Courage, Pride & Prejudice, and more.
Research and paper writing tools
Student tools include highlighting, note taking, bookmarks and project folders.
Automatically generated citations and bibliographies in MLA, APA or Chicago format drives focus to content, not commas. Librarian-selected topic pages provide great resource lists or starting points for papers.
How to Write a Research Paper
With tools to help you find a topic idea, create a thesis statement, build an outline, plus a 9-step writing guide and helpful research tutorials, Questia School can walk you through the research paper writing process.
Study Skills HandbookThis link opens in a new window43 units to help you discover techniques to assist you to learn more efficiently and effectively. This will help you improve your academic results and achieve your personal best at school and beyond. Use your Kellett username and password to access the link page.
The DayThis link opens in a new windowA daily news service especially aimed at Senior students. Get up to speed with current affairs and delve deeper into the news stories of the day. No Login required when in school. For use outside school please ask the School Librarian for password.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Financial Times onlineThis link opens in a new windowPlease create your own username and password using your @connect.kellettschool.com
Access for our Year 12 and 13 students, The Financial Times is one of the world’s leading news organisations, recognised internationally for its authority, integrity and accuracy. It is part of Nikkei Inc., which provides a broad range of information, news and services for the global business community.
A collection of Gale Databases giving you access to eBooks, journals, magazines, newspapers, images and videos - great for research
MassolitThis link opens in a new windowMassolit provides video seminars from Arts and Humanities academics who have dedicated their lives to their respective fields. Useful for GCSE / A Level students who wanted to push themselves and to engage with interesting ideas and critical discussions. Access is automatic while in school. Set up your own account with your @connect email address to access outside of school and to save playlists etc.
Access Global NewsBank is an amazing collection of over 7,000 news resources from around the world from the 1980s to the present. The collection contains 26 sources in Hong Kong, including South China Morning Post, and 697 sources in England.
Please contact the librarian for login details or email email@example.com
SCMP CompassThis link opens in a new windowAn archival newspaper database that covers 175 years of news in English from The South China Morning Post [1903-2019] and China Mail [1845-1974].
Shakespeare in Bits - MacbethThis link opens in a new windowInstant online access to fully-animated study editions of Shakespeare's Macbeth. Access is limited to named users - please ask your English Teacher or Librarian for more information and the login details.